" The mission of the River Valley District Library is to provide educational,
informational, cultural and recreational resources and services to its district,
serving as a learning and educational center for all residents." 

 
Our district is based on taxation and includes residents in Port Byron, Rapids City, Hampton, East Moline, Hillsdale and Cordova. To find out if you currently pay taxes to River Valley District Library and are therefore eligible for a free library card,check your voter's registration card or tax bill. If you do not pay taxes to our library, but would like to purchase a card, please contact the library for current rates or visit our Library Cards page for more information.
 

Our library is located at 214 S Main Street, Port Byron, IL  61275.  Click here for directions.
 

Hours of Operation
 
The River Valley District Library maintains consistent, posted hours of service
during which all services of the River Valley District Library are available to patrons.
Those hours are:

 
 Monday                      9:00am—8:00pm
 Tuesday                     9:00am—8:00pm
Wednesday                9:00am—8:00pm
Thursday                    9:00am—8:00pm
 Friday                        9:00am—8:00pm
Saturday                     9:00am—1:00pm
 
The book drop is available for the return of all library materials 24 hours a day. 
The book drop is located on the left front of the library building.

 

Additional Library Closures for 2018
 
Monday, Jan. 1 New Year's Day
Monday, Mar. 12 Staff In-Service Day
Monday, May 28 Memorial Day
Wednesday, July 4 Independence Day
Friday, Aug. 10 Tug Fest
Saturday, Aug. 11 Tug Fest
Monday, Sept. 3 Labor Day
Friday, Sept. 28 Staff In-Service Day
Thursday, Nov. 22 Thanksgiving Day
Friday, Nov. 23 Black Friday
Monday, Dec. 24 Christmas Eve
Tuesday, Dec. 25 Christmas Day
Monday, Dec. 31 New Year's Eve
Tuesday, Jan. 1, 2019 New Year's Day